Has anyone ever made a violin, viola, cello etc?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LFS19

Established Member
Reaction score
Incredible pieces of work. Was watching a video on YouTube today of someone making a viola from scratch.

Considering the talent we have here on the forum, I was wondering if anyone here ever has done?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Alexam":19avndm2 said:
Good chance someone will pop up on this, but the art of making musical instruments is really facinating. I have spent lots of time watching such video's even though that skill is way beyond my own capabilities. A number of videos can be found here https://www.google.co.uk/webhp?sourceid ... %20violins

Malcolm

Thanks for the link, I totally agree.
I'd absolutely love to be able to make an instrument like that, as a musician myself.

I played violin for 15 years in my youth and have three violins including one very good one. If someone on here has made one, I'd practice again just to play it if they let me.

That would be utterly amazing. They are astonishing pieces of art.

A luthier friend of mine says that it's always a bit of a hit and miss. You make 2 violins from the same stock and one sounds good, the other so-so.
Why this is the case, no one knows.
What I'm trying to say is that the chances of your first violin being anything other than a VSO (violin-shaped object) are slim.
That does not mean that you can not enjoy the 'journey'. Just don't get your hopes too high.

Probably better to make a ukulele first; the top and bottom plate of a uke are planed-flat-boards, so you can avoid all that plate carving - there's still plenty of side bending and neck shaping and glueing to practise with...

Here's a practised amateur violin maker "knocking up" a ukulele...

http://z11.invisionfree.com/Stringed_In ... ic=33&st=0

It's easy - for him!

BugBear

CHJ":br0oii7y said: