Grease

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard J

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening Happy Easter
Being a farmer, I have greased the bearings on my Viceroy lathe with normal EP grease. Does anyone know what I SHOULD have used. The lathe is now sluggish when cold, and reluctant to take higher speeds until warm. The trip keeps tripping. If the grease is ok, maybe I need a new trip switch, or maybe a start up new capacitor.
Any advice as usual would be superb

Cheers Richard

I would be surprised if the grease made much difference to the operation of the lathe. You could try releasing the drive belt tension and spinning the spindle by hand to check if it is moving freely when both cold and warm to see if there is a significant difference.

How much grease? Did you force it into the bearings till they were full?
That would slow it down. Bearings shouldnt be completely full. I only wipe grease around the outside with my finger while turning the spindle by hand.

Have you checked the makers recommendations? most manuals are available online now.

Do you have a way of measuring the capacitor? Quite a few multi function test meters have that now. look for a setting with a small back to front y with an f next to it (stands for micro farad). If you have one and it does, you must disconnect both terminals before testing it. If not, replace that as a first solution anyway as they arent very expensive and can cause slow running.

Hi
Thankyo for your replies.
Yes to be fair I do pump grease into a bearing until I see I start to weep around the seal. So maybe I've pumped it in too much. I will keep my eye on it.
I will look for a manual.

Cheers

R

As paul said, the easiest way to check the bearings is to disconnect the motor and turn it by hand.