granite worktop offcut for lapping plate?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Wouldchuk

Established Member
Reaction score
Morning all - I was chatting to a guy in the pub who runs a worktop company, and offered me an offcut of granite to use as a lapping plate for planes.

I've not taken him up yet as I wanted to check - is worktop-grade granite flat enough for the lapping of plane soles? Considering I am a hobbyist... I should think they are, to an acceptable standard for me at least.....

And what is the ideal sort of size - I've a No 7 as my largest plane. I dont want to have something larger than I need.

Any advice gratefully received.

Tim

Wouldchuk":1o3asglh said:
Morning all - I was chatting to a guy in the pub who runs a worktop company, and offered me an offcut of granite to use as a lapping plate for planes.

I've not taken him up yet as I wanted to check - is worktop-grade granite flat enough for the lapping of plane soles? Considering I am a hobbyist... I should think they are, to an acceptable standard for me at least.....

And what is the ideal sort of size - I've a No 7 as my largest plane. I dont want to have something larger than I need.

Any advice gratefully received.

Tim

I don't believe (what woodworkers call) lapping of soles is a good technique for making them flat, and I don't trust worktops to be flat enough to be involved in a laborious process without at least some hope of a successful outcome.

If your goal is to be within 1-2 thou, you must know that your reference is (in fact) BETTER than that.

BugBear

Perhaps the first thing to establish is whether or not the planes actually need lapping. It's a lot of work, and there's no point spending the time and effort aquiring equipment, setting up and doing the job if they don't need it.