Getting started in stropping.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J_SAMa

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been sharpening all my chisels on 1000 and 3000 japanese waterstones and polishing them on 12000 micro mesh sandpaper (which is about as fine as 6000 japanese waterstones). Now I wanna ditch the sandpaper and go with stropping instead. What kind of leather and honing compound should I choose?

The only leather dedicated to tool sharpening that I've found is this:
http://www.mehr-als-werkzeug.de/product ... -Strop.htm
and this:
http://www.rutlands.co.uk/hand-tools/sh ... op---220mm

So which one should I buy? Or do you know any better ones? I'm still a student so money matters. Please try to recommend something under 30 pounds...

Now about honing compound. I really barely know anything about this so please recommend me some nice honing compounds. Try to recommend specific models and not just manufacturers or types of compounds.
Veritas' and Flexcut's honing compounds have good reputations though. Has anyone used these
Some people use diamond pastes on pieces of glass to polish. Are these only meant for glass or do they work on leather as well? And what are some good diamond pastes? How about Norton's?
http://www.rutlands.co.uk/hand-tools/sh ... 1_2-micron

Thanks and sorry for so many questions in one post
Sam

I strop using the Veritas green compound on a piece of horse hide. That stuff work amazing! I find it definitely stretches the amount of time working between resharpening.

bobbybirds":22d4hu8k said:
I strop using the Veritas green compound on a piece of horse hide. That stuff work amazing! I find it definitely stretches the amount of time working between resharpening.
Hi Bobby,
What kind of horse hide is it and where can I find it? Can you be more specific?
Sam