First ever project - Plywood boxes WIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jadboog

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am coming towards the end of my house renovation and finally have a room to use as an impromptu workshop. I’ve been reading about woodworking for six months and am pleased I can now finally get down to my first ever project! Would love some feedback on methods / techniques and other ideas as I’ve never done any woodwork before.

Needing somewhere to store the tools I’ve collected for the renovation I thought some big plywood storage boxes would be ideal, and I decided to make them with box joints so I can practice using a hand saw.
Here’s the WIP so far:

Tools – Not many woodworking specific ones, but they are what I’ve picked up along the way. Will be building up woodworking kit over the next few months – recommendations welcome:

1.JPG

My cheap workbench (workbench project on the cards soon!) and macallister sliding mitre saw – only ever used it for rough cuts on site before, so will be good to test it on a project requiring a little more accuracy:

3.JPG

Oops, almost forgot, picked a coping saw up for skirting and thought I would try it to cut the box joints:

2.JPG

Wood – bought 12mm hardwood veneered ply from my timber merchant and asked them to rip it into four 1’ wide planks (seemed like a nice round split of a standard 8’x4’ board). I’m planning to make around 5 boxes 2’x1’x1’ to fit my understairs shelves. Also got some hardwood cut for the bottoms of the boxes:

4.JPG

Measuring and cutting - Despite making sure the blades were straight in the jigsaw, the blades seemed to bend in the wood as I was cutting meaning I couldn’t get the edge of the cuts square – is this just because I’m using a cheap jigsaw? (Macallister). So, I thought I’d try my cutting on my chopsaw.

5.JPG