First (and last) sharpening system

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vikash

Established Member
Reaction score
I have an el cheapo #4 plane and a few chisels, which I will be expanding on. I also want to sharpen domestic knives. I also have hundreads of hss drill and mill bits, but sharpening these is not the main goal.

The cost although important is second to convenience, repeatability and effort I want to put it. I'd rather it lasted a lifetime or close to.

So for a complete newbie to sharpening, what would you suggest? I like the idea of a rotary water stone i.e Tormek (which model?, what additional things will I need?)

V - the flood gates are about to open but here's what I would do. The Tormek is an excellent bit of kit (I've had mine now for over 10 years) and is mainly used for grinding the primary bevel. I've tried waterstones but I simply can't get on with them...end of story. Diamond stones are far easier to use and for all practical purposes can be considered as 'dead flat'. I use the green Extra Fine DMT stone but there's now an even finer Extra Extra Fine one from Axminster (used as a polishing stone for the final bevel)
Paul C may well be along who'll be able to advise you on at least 10 :^o :whistle: different honing guides, but the one I use is an Eclipse clone (about £5) as it's easy and repeatable, 'specially if used with some simple distance projection boards. I also use a strop in conjunction with the DMT stone.
This is the kit that I use but there are umpteen variations, all of which are equally good and all of which will produce the desired result...hairless arms - Rob