Face mask advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DougieH

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am new to this hobby, and am looking for a bit of potection from dust. I have read up a bit and see that ideally I would be getting a chip extractor and also a fine particle extractor with fine filters. I know its healthwe are talking about, nut my budget wont stretch to this at present. So I am looking for the best budget mask to give me a bit of protection now. I do my turning in my garage, which is reasonably ventilated and get out there a couple of times a week fo a couple of hours. I run vacuum cleaner right next to the wood when sanding, but I realise the filters on it wont stop much of the small stuff. At present I do not have any problems with wood allergy wise, its just cutting out some of the dust I am interested in. All points of view gratefully received.

Hi Dougie,

A full face respirator is the best option but these start at about £200 :shock: :shock: !! Really it depends if you wear glasses or not. If you do..... sorry, almost all masks are going to leave you steamed up!!

If not, then the cheapest option is a face visor which start at about £8 from Axminster or similar, plus a FFP2 (minimum) disposable dust mask underneith. This will keep you going for a while.

I have a Powercap and, due to the amount of dust I find on the inside of the visor :shock: :shock: I also wear a dust mask. Every little helps, as they say!!

Cheers

Richard

The real question is can you afford NOT to have adequate protection. Lost my dad to cancer caused by woodworking when he was just 49! The threat was not properly understood back a while. But if we don't learn the lessons .....

I have the JSP power cap, which is similar to the Trend. A question of personal choice. But I think vitally important to have proper protection.

Colin