Excellent couple of days ...

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TobyB

Established Member
Reaction score
Just spent a very interesting and pleasant couple of days outside Stratford doing a Hollowing course with Phil Irons. HIGHLY recommended!

Course was 1:1 as I was the only one there. Long days - 8.30 until about 6.00 - so a lot of teaching/talking/turning time.

I'm not a complete novice, but in no way particularly skilled ... I can make things like bowls (both small and larger salad/fruit), simple boxes, table lamps, stools, tables and the like to a standard nowhere near "gallery" or "pro", but about as good as many craft shop/stall offerings (I think), and certainly better than quite a few I've seen. I'm not trying to boast about my (certainly limited) abilities, but trying to set things in context ...

We spent a few hours looking at a variety of logs (species, size, state, etc) in a timber yard, chainsawed off some bits after selecting interesting and suitable bits and took them back for working on ... that was very useful in itself ... will investigate local sources more confidently now ...