Einstein for ever?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
All I'm getting is a list of names Pete.
Einstein's conclusions have been challenged pretty much from when he published them. There was a Society dedicated to over throwing his conclusions at one time.
I recall his conclusions being challenged when I was a student on the then theory of propogation of electro-magnetic waves in wave guides.
Whether that has been resolved or not I know not.

Roy.

Bah, there's a very very long way to go before we start saying the speed of light isn't the fastest information / matter can travel. This will almost certainly turn out to be a systematic error somewhere in the experiment. There have been literally thousands of experiments that all indicate that c is as fast as information can travel and none have given even the faintest hint that anything faster is achievable. Our current understanding of physics would even seem to indicate that cause and effect would be broken if this result is true so we could know nothing for certain.

There was actually a natural experiment fairly recently. A star was seen to go supernova which causes a large neutrino flux. Detectors on earth spotted the light and the neutrinos at exactly the same time. If neutrinos really did travel faster than light then how come the light and neutrinos from this supernova arrived at the same time? As the star is many light years away you'd expect the neutrinos to have arrived significantly before the light. The only possible explanation is that neutrinos somehow speed up when passing through matter as that is the only difference between this experiment and the supernova result.

Detectors on earth spotted the light and the neutrinos at exactly the same time.

As the suggested difference is only 60 billionths of sec slower/faster WC the observers would not have registered any delay.