Dust mask for a beardie.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

j

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm after a good dust mask for a bearded face. Any recomendations?
At the moment, I use cheap disposable paper masks. Probably not very effective, and if I'm hones, I usually don't bother unless doing something particularly dusty.

I've was up in the loft the other day, sorting out hte insulation and didn't wear any dust mask. Not very clever, but I won't be doing it again.

I had a quick look online at the Trend Airace, and almost ordered it. But then I found a post by wizer stating that he didn't find it a good fit on his face and his beard may make it a less than optimum fit.

So, what I want to know is, is there a good solution that will work for me.
(I've seen the airshield, but really can't justify the cost). I'm a weekend woodworker and even then, I'm lucky if I get a couple of hours a month.
I seem to be busy with other DIY projects at the moment. I even have a list :(

I know it's not going to be the air tight seal that is required in the industrial places, but All I want is something better than the paper masks, that won't break the bank. Airace seems about the right price, also some of the gas mask style ones with the two filters look the business. But no idea if they are any better/worse.

Also, is the airace discontinued? I see that axminster don't stock it any more.

Advice/recommendations welcome please.

Thanks
J

speak to wizer. I remember him having the same trouble.
I have 'growth' and get on well with the one I have. I'll look it up, but wizer has one too, so see what he says.

HTH

Neil

I don't have a beard but I do have a Trend Airace and find it excellent. I don't think a beard would significantly affect it's efficiency so long as your moustache isn't too bushy.