Drill Press Einhell BT-BD501

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

heabow

Reaction score
Hello,

Does anyone know anything about these drill presses - Einhell BT-BD501 - please?

I am looking to buy a decent drill press in the £100 - £125 range unless you can recommend something better.

Thank you

Heabow
(newbie here)

Hi,
I'm not sure that sort of budget will buy you a 'decent' drill press. I bought a Clarke (never again) cheapo some years ago and although it still works, it's never been sturdy or accurate - OK for bashing holes where accuracy doesn't matter but that's all. It's very easy to stall the motor too. Admittedly it cost about half of what you're thinking of spending but if you want something worth having then it's a case of 'think again'. Personally I would save up a bit (actually quite a bit) more and get a real quality tool, or go the second hand route and look for perhaps Fobco, Meddings, Startrite or similar. They crop up occasionally on ebay so I think it's best to be patient and keep looking for a good 'un in your area - unless you need it desperately soon of course, in which case you may have no other options.

There was a forum entry here in September on pillar drills. I don't know how to set a link to it but you may be able to find it from these details:-
author - chippy1970
date - sept 02 2012
subject - old pillar drills

Good luck in your endeavours,

K

For a new drill in the price range you have mentioned you can't really expect too much.
I bought an Axminster bench drill last month, it seems ok to me although it will only get light diy use.
The only thing i've found I am not keen on so far is the keyless chuck as I prefer to lock the chuck positively with a key, but thats just me.
Anyway here's a link: http://www.axminster.co.uk/axminster-ax ... rod719342/

Roughcut":2cds4k99 said: