Draw-bore guide + draw-bore maker

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ColeyS1

Established Member
Reaction score
Morning all,

After reading Petes post about draw-boring, i thought i post a few pics to try and make it a little clearer -also a jig for making the tapered fellas.

As an apprentice this took a bit of figuring out. :-k

First thing you want to do is drill your hole for your draw-bore in the wood with the mortice first -

af89bf0a.jpg

When im drilling newel posts i try to keep this as upright as possible so the draw-bore has the same margin in,from each side. When i was an apprentice i use to drill the tenon first which made it a real ball ache to get the newels all looking the same.

Once you have hole drilled in the bit with the mortice, insert your tenon. Put the drill in reverse, and with the auger bit allow to spin a few times.
02deb0f3.jpg

You should end up with a point being made in the tenon. Then simply move the point of the auger bit, a little closer to the shoulder

eaa7ffd2.jpg

b9ab8fb8.jpg

voila !

When you've driven the wooden draw-bore through, cut off the bit with the pointy end, a little proud. If it needs wedging a little to fill the hole it sometimes moves the pin back below the surface.

This is probably blindingly obvious to most people, but hopefully it might benefit someone :wink:

I've got these metal pins made up for dry fitting, prior to hammering home the wooden ones.

923fa01b.jpg

9410dfcf.jpg

The joy of these, is you can gently smash the toffee out of them, without fear of breaking them.

After figuring out how to draw-bore, i was always given the lovely job of hand planing 3/8th and 1/2inch pins for stairs. Using a block plane made this job much more bearable, but i still on occasion ended up planing off pieces of skin/finger nails trying to hold the damn things. :evil: