Do you own any wooden moulding planes?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

toolsntat

Yep, I collect tools and tat
Reaction score
At the moment I am studying the way planemakers formed the wedges for moulding planes.

I have seen some of the tools Marples used at The Hawley Collection Sheffield and I have mine.

Would it please be possible to let me know if you have a "DOT" on the face of the wedge where it meets the body of the plane?

I think this is a datum point for making all the wedges the same height?

Cheers
Andy

Do you have a photo of what your looking for and ill go through I stash and see If I can find anything.
TT

Hi Andy.
What an excellent bit of research, and something I have not spotted before.
I had a quick check of the half set of hollows and rounds in my grandfathers chest, and they all have the dot on the front face of the wedge. This is also present on the side beads, and sash ovolos. The planes were obviously all purchased at the same time, but it is interesting to note that the hollows and rounds are marked Kay of Nottingham, while the beads are by King and co of Hull. The style of the planes, and there wedges are identical, and I'm sure they are from the same factory. I have a feeling that King made them all, and Kay was just a retailer.
I then started checking out some of my early moulders, and discovered quite a number of them have a horizontal scribed line corresponding to the depth of the wedge, rather than a dot. having said that I have found one early moulder by William Loveage where the dot has been used.
The trouble is that you have now set me the task of going through hundreds of moulding planes just to check this feature out :lol:
Thanks for that :)

Well well, this is going somewhere - a real bit of deduction!