Did you pocket hole project wobble then fall apart?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amateur

Established Member
Reaction score
Well it's been some time since pocket hole joinery has been talked about.
Wife bought me a jig a few years back but it's just sat on the shelf.
I've never used it but having to make a kids bedroom desk now it does seem appropriate.
So my question is this, If you built something using this system how well has the end product held up over time? Has it fallen apart? Or is it solid as a rock still

Heathen, burn in the fires of hell for mentioning such an abomination. Now that's out the way.

I've no experience of using a dedicated pocket hole screwing system but built plenty of things over the years with screws rather than proper joinery. Many of these have adequately stood the test of time, those that have survived the best are where I put sufficient thought into how the piece would work regards to imparted loads and the screwed structure. I expect it's like other joinery, if you understand the limitations of any joint and only use it where appropriate it'll be fine. With only a pocket hole to join stuff, you'll need to tailor your structure to the joint, rather than pick the joint appropriate for your structure.

Fitz.

Pocket hole joinery is p*ss poor. It's only for quick bodges or cheap furniture. Nails often as good.
Though you see it a lot in tables where the top is held by pocketed screws up through the apron. They work OK as there is no bending or torsional stress.
nb it's easy to do pocket holes without a jig and special kit. You start the hole at 90º . As soon as it's ledged in a few mm lift the drill to send it down at the screw angle. Then countersink your new hole and drop in a screw.

Well it's been some time since pocket hole joinery has been talked about.