Curved Ply Part For Campervan, Help!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

I like Ply

Reaction score
Hello,
My name is Toby,
I am a product designer currently building a campervan.
I have lined the campervan with 9mm hardwood ply on the walls and ceiling, and wanted to make a curved transition between the two.

PXL_20230228_153612451.jpg
PXL_20230228_153542324.jpg

The idea I have come up with to steam bend a piece of 9mm with grooves cut into it. The grooves were cut because I only had a kettle to steam bend them, and so the less ply to bend, the easier.
I have found that using a kettle is barely sufficient to bend this ply evenly, and works best when the grooves are showing, as the grooves close up and prevent one section from bending more than another.
I would prefer to have the smooth uncut ply veneer on show, but without a wood steamer I think it unlikely.

I'm sure there are better ways, for example building a mould, then using glued veneers in vacuum bag.
I would prefer not to have to build the mould and invest in vacuum forming apparatus, or in building a steamer etc.

I am hoping someone might be able to help!
Any suggestions more than welcome, Thanks!

There are several approaches that would work.If the sides are straight and parallel,it would allow you to use a constant section.Since you don't have vacuum equipment you can't get away with making one half of a former and laminating from three skins of 3mm plywood.You may be able to make a former for both sides and use cramps to exert the force that will allow you to laminate but it takes a bit of time and effort in spite of saving the cash for a vacuum system.