Cross-Cut Sled Frustrations

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harris84

Reaction score
So, I'm quite new to woodworking, but today I felt pretty disheartened with what I was trying to achieve, to the point where I feel like giving up! I got to a point where I thought sod this, I'll just buy one, but then went down the mental track of "if I can't build this, I can't build anything so why bother".

Cutting to the chase (my first attempt at this post was a complete essay, which i later thought was unnecessary);
  • My sled constantly sticking
    • While the original board looked fine, after cutting it (for the base and fence) I noticed there were bows in the cur pieces
    • It looks like when cutting the center of the board with the table saw (once the miter joints were in and fences were on but not squared), the board shifted/warped
    • Flipping the board over and running my hand over where the slot is cut, there's a significant lip on one side
    • I don't actually know if this is the issue, but I can't tell you how frustrated I was with a constantly jamming sled that would tip the table saw if I tried to work through it
    • This made the 2nd point all the more frustrating, as I was having to restart many cuts due to jamming despite constantly inspecting the back of the board and sanding to remove any proud points that may have been there.
  • Squaring the fence
    • I had a bit of spare chip that I cut 2 sides on and then checked the corner with a square. It was pretty close, but I know 'pretty close' on a small-ish square on a single cut could mean miles off on a long sheet cut, so thought I'd check it with the 5-cut method
    • Cue multiple attempts at the 5-cut method, every one of the cuts being interrupted by a jamming sled!