complex reception counter build.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reck123

Established Member
Reaction score
Good afternoon uk worskhoppers. I wanted to ask your opinion on the following. This just landed in my inbox and I was asked to quote for it. A rather large chunk of a reception desk to be made from solid wood.

Whilst i'm a competent woodworker I haven’t built something with curves on this scale before. The curved slat section has a length of 2855 mm and with the added wings reaches 3695 mm

What would be your method of building such a thing. My idea would be to create a curved form from ply that then gets veneered. Then the covering slats would with be steamed bent or bent laminated to cover. neither of which technique I have much experience with.
Also what would be your quote for such a piece its undoubtedly a lot of work and materials costs won’t be cheap either?

Attachments

• MoTheraReceptionDeskRender1.jpg
    MoTheraReceptionDeskRender1.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
  • MoTheraReceptionDeskRender6.jpg
    MoTheraReceptionDeskRender6.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • MoTheraReceptionDeskRender5.jpg
    MoTheraReceptionDeskRender5.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 0
  • MoTheraReceptionDeskRender4.jpg
    MoTheraReceptionDeskRender4.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 0
  • MoTheraReceptionDeskRender7.jpg
    MoTheraReceptionDeskRender7.jpg
    2.1 MB · Views: 0
That looks like a 3d model, well rendered, but just checking because there is construction detail visible in the images. The extended ends of the desk look to have a half inch thick solid wood edge and the radiussed corner lippings look bandsawn from solid according to way the grain runs, yes ?