Cheap plumped in dust extraction system

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
RogerS":y2uxt8qw said:
Rob..when you say the Camvac operates on a different principle to the Axminster can you explain a bit more?

Looking at the spec between the two, both units are rated at 2.2kW. The airflow of the Camvac twin is stated as 222cu ft/min ...approx 6 cu metre...which works out to 360 cu m per hour.

The Axminster is quoted at 2200 cu m per hour.

I'm no expert either but if the above figures are correct then it's suck that I want!

My machine is definitely a Camvac two motor..will post a picture later.
Now you've got me and I'm into uncharted waters...the Camvac is a vacuum device and the Ax2200 is something else :? I agree that the specs are different...maybe someone else could enlighten us? - Rob

The Camvac, DX5000, WV1000 are all dust extractors with built in filter systems that filter down to 0.5micron which covers all dust types including MDF. They are brush motored (noisier) and can generate high vacuum pressures but relatively low airflow. You can restrict the port size to fit hand power tools, sanders and routers. The twin motor devices also have enough power to use a 4inch port to extract from PT and table saws. A spindle moulder is marginal.

The ADE2200 and similar products typically do not filter down to the same level and are regarded as more chip collectors rather tha dust collectors. Having said that most have the ability to fit a filter but they are pretty pricey (£100. They have massive airflow but low vacuum pressure and this means the port size and piping MUST NOT be reduced from the 4 inch port. Thus you cannot use them with machines with small dust ports.

In a perfect world I would have both, HVLP for the PT, TS and SM and a HPLV for the sanders and routers etc.