Charnwood W575 Thicknesser Electrical Issues?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richardkirkman

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

A few weeks ago I purchased a 2nd hand charnwood W575 thicknesser from someone who didn't know much about it.

I tried it out and it seemed to work fine. New blades required as they were quite blunt and damaged. Digital read out wasn't working, so i took it to pieces and gave it a clean-it sprung back into life so all was well.

Screenshot 2024-06-03 081648.png

No blade setting jig with the machine, so i designed some magnetic blocks to set the new blades up.

First test cuts, machine works perfectly. Then I get to thicknessing some beech, it works beautifully. However, on the final pass, the motor decided to slowly ramp down to a stop and not restart again.

I am no electrical engineer, but I've tried my best to check things through. My hunch is on the NVR switch, but I do not know how to test it properly to see if it works. A replacement is readily available so my fingers are crossed for that to be the issue.

I have checked the fuse in the plug, and checked continuity from the plug to the NVR switch and that is all fine. Then there is continuity from the NVR wires to the motor brushes housing.
I have the machine relatively stripped down so i have decent access, but I have yet to figure out how to remove the motor/electronics cover to see the wiring inside.
Screenshot 2024-06-03 081539.png

I have a larger NVR switch which I tried using, but that just immediately tripped the breaker in the garage. I also tried bypassing the NVR completely and that also tripped the breaker.
The manual does not have a wiring diagram inside.
Screenshot 2024-06-03 081213.jpg

Before I try to strip the machine further, I would like to check the NVR switch. Does anyone have any recommendations for how this should be done?

Thanks