Braces?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Keefaz

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi, all!

Newbie here, again. I would like to know about braces! The type that you use to drill into wood, I mean. :lol:

Now, I'm not a total neanderthal, but there is definitely something I like about using hand tools when I can. Maybe it's the fact I don't have the room for big machines or maybe it's more that I find it harder to mess things up when I go under my own steam rather than electricity...

Anyway. I'm looking at braces and hand drills. What I'm wondering is if it's possible to use my current drill bits with a brace? Or do I need to use the old-school style bits? And is a brace a better tool than a hand drill?

Any help, much appreciated!

Keith.

Hi Keith,

Braces can be a definite slope to slide down all their own! Even easier to justify multiple braces than most other handtools...

With the 3- and 4-jaw type of brace chucks, one can hold as small a regular or bradpoint bit as the jaws allow. I have hand drills with chucks small enough that allow me to use even the smallest of numbered bits.

I find that the various bits made specifically for braces and hand drills do work more efficiently, however. At least once one starts using bits above say 1/2".

As to which is better, I would say for some things, yes, for many things, no. Limited to woodworking, though, there is nothing an electric drill can do that a brace/hand drill cannot--but the reverse isn't necessarily true.

Faced with a cabinet full of shelf pin holes to drill, I'll use a drill press. Faced with a larger piece of furniture to punch holes for dowel construction, I'll probably use an electric drill. Less than that, I'll use a brace and or hand drill.

Take care, Mike