bowl turning

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

david

Established Member
Reaction score
hello all
can anyone tell me where i am going wrong.
i am new to woodturning and made my first bowl last week
albeit a little rough around the base
the problem being is that when i have finished the bowl and remove it from the chuck i am left with indentations from the chuck
can anyone tell me how to alleviate this problem
i am using a standard chuck supplied with my clarke lathe
very beat regards to you all
david.

Mornin' David. In my experience all scroll chucks will mark the timber, even when the holding point is cut to fit the jaws when they form a perfect circle, if they are tightened too hard.

One way to alleviate this is to turn the base of the bowl then cover the holding point with tissue before fitting into the chuck, then don't grip the work too tightly. But I don't advise that for a beginner as you can lose the work. You don't want a part turned bowl orbiting your work place. :shock:

The best way is to mount the work is on a sacrificial part of the timber, be it a spigot or rebate. Then when finished reverse chuck the work and remove the holding point. It is not as difficult as some say, but you do need to work slowly and carefully. As with all things in this hobby, once told or shown how and you do it a couple of times it becomes quite easy.

DO NOT try this until you have gained some reasonable degree of control of your tools, the death of a lot of this work is folks trying to run before they learn to walk.

What chuck are you using and what jaw size would be my first question.