Bowed panels after glue up

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mr

Established Member
Reaction score
So having spent weeks prepping the wood and then gluing up to get my panel width. placing the "nearly to thickness" panels into a sticked pile as I go I return to the pile of panels to find that rather than nice flat panels (as once they were) awaiting final finish for the bookcase I was making I now have several long bowed panels. So bowed in fact they might make nice coopered tops for something.
No idea what to do now really, planing them flat probably not realistic, theyre not just a little bowed after all. Ive moved them from workshop to house in the hopes that some central heating might flatten them again. It will probably make them worse but then theyre already so bad that it doesnt really matter.

Oh well back to the drawing board.
Mike

I'm no expert on this, but did you place each board with the growth rings running opposite to each other? What wood are you using?

I've read somewhere about putting panels out on the lawn first thing in the morning, to absorb dew to help flatten them, but not sure of the details.

Matt.

The wood is nasty reclaimed pine, given to me so no great loss but an iritation as Ive spent about 3 weeks preparing this lot all by hand. The plan was to try and finish the bookcase this weekend and at the moment it looks like I might be starting again. :/
Growth rings are mostly but not entirely running opposite to each other but that doesnt seem to have had any effect the bow is equal in places where rings are opposite and the same.
Havent heard about putting them out on the lawn but its an idea alright and short of any other its certainly worth trying.

Cheers Mike

If i remember correctly, you had to apply the finish soon after bringing them indoors, but don't quote me on that as i may be well off the mark.

Matt.