BitLord 1.1

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike.C

Established Member
Reaction score
I am using, or trying to use, a program called BitLord 1.1 to download a TV show which is 698mb, and so far it has taken 9 hours to download just 497mb.
At times the download speed is as low as 7kb/s, but on average it is between 15kb/s and 38kb/s.

I know I am a novice when it comes to PC's and the internet, but surely with broadband it should be downloading quicker then this. Is this normal or am I doing something wrong?

I do not know if this is right either, but the upload speed is around 30kb/s with an average speed of between 19kb/s and 40kb/s.
By the way what is being uploaded? I thought uploading was when I uploaded some photo's etc, but I am not doing anything like that.
The strange thing is looking at the figures just now it has uploaded more (645mb) then I have downloaded (502mb), does this sound right?

Except for writing this post and my firewall/antivirus running in the background I am not doing anything else that would slow the speed down.

If the above is the normal speed, do you know of any other program that downloads faster?

Thank you in advance

Cheers

Mike

BitLord is a BitTorrent client. BitTorrent is a method of file sharing. It is used for both legal and illegal shares - for example, several Linux distributions are available via official Torrents, but many videos, applications etc are illegally shared this way. So you may want to check the legality of what you are downloading.