Bench vises

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pompon44

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm contemplating the idea to build my own workbench. Well, actually, I'm currently drawing the plan for it...
I guess I'll go for a traditional bench with wooden vises (both tail and should or leg, don't know yet), because it looks cheaper and should be a good occasion to learn new skills (I'm an almost complete beginner, so could replace "new" by "some" ;-) ). And also because there are plans for such benches in Landis' and Sam Allen's books, too.

Now, trying to shop for the bench vises, I've came across those :

http://www.axminster.co.uk/recno/1/prod ... -22374.htm
http://www.axminster.co.uk/recno/2/prod ... -22373.htm

and

http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx ... at=1,41659
http://www.leevalley.com/wood/page.aspx ... at=1,41659

The prices are quite different for what seems to be comparable vises. I'm obviously missing something here. Are the qualities really different ? Any experience with any of those vises ?

Thanks,

Hi pompon44

Dieter Schmid do these too.

I'm afraid I've no experience of any of them so can't really comment but I would guess that it's another case of "you get what you pay for".

Cheers

I can speak from experience and the Veritas twin screw vice is very versatile and useful. I mounted it across the end of my bench when I built it, which gives me 28 inches width, or roughly 68 CM. With that I can clamp boards of a metre or less and joint them I can sharpen saws in it and it holds all manner of wood. The price shown on the German site is much higher than what I paid, but then I am in the same country as Lee Valley.