The $17 microscope

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
There's no real replacement for seeing instead of guessing.
I totally agree. I have picked up some very inexpensive loupes and microscopes, Peak, secondhand from ebay, but I wish I had something wit a bigger field of view.

i'm sorry but if I felt that I needed a scope to continue with a hobby I have been doing for 50 years I would give up.
The word "microscope" grabbed my attention. Had to comment. I definitely need microscopes for my hobby of over 50 years - it's microscopy!

I have 5 scopes permanently set up (all research-grade - three stereos, one compound, one inverted compound) and two field scopes for sample-collecting trips. There's another three microscopes scattered about as "parts" adapted for other imaging tasks and objective lenses all over the place. Then there's all the studio macro gear for extreme close-up photography too. Another bunch of lenses, two motorised rail setups (for focus stacking) and all the lighting gear.

I do like looking closer! Here's the tip of a modern diamond-tipped glass cutter for decoration. I managed to break the tip somehow, but it's worked much, much better ever since. The tip was smooth and conical, but the pic shows it got sharper at the break....

TipFB-export.jpg

Last edited:
I bought one from a bay. Has it's own screen and so doesn't need a computer to work, just plug in and go. Came with a suction pad mount which I changed for just a flat sheet of aluminium. Cost about £20 and has proved invaluable for examining watch parts.
There's a load on Amazon for under a tenner. 30/60x, this should be good enough right? I'll tack one onto my next amazon order if so.

The word "microscope" grabbed my attention. Had to comment. I definitely need microscopes for my hobby of over 50 years - it's microscopy!