Bench Press alternative

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wooster

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a complete novice at woodworking projects but recently I've become interested in building an electric guitar from a kit as a sort of lockdown project. The only trouble is that in order to drill holes for the bridge screws they need to be completely perpendicular to the guitar top and I only have a hand drill. The rest of the project is fine and pretty easy but if I don't get these holes right the whole thing could be flawed.

Is there either a very inexpensive drill arrangement I can use to do this as I believe proper bench press drills are very expensive? Please bear in mind I'm inexperienced and my only previous use of a drill has been things like sticking in rawlplugs to put up shelves As this is probably the only time I will use one I don't want to spend a fortune. I only need to drill 6 small holes and so a hand drill thing would do as long as I can accurately angle the drill for these holes.

I should make clear that the guitar body isn't completely flat and has curves on it so using a dowel jig like this probably wouldn't work

Thanks for your help :)

Last edited:
you could use something like this Big Gator Tools MDG1000NP V Style Portable Drill Guide - METRIC, 17 Hole | eBay and clamp it down to the guitar.

same principle, slightly different Axminster Drill Guide Kit

you could easily make one, all that you need is a single hole drilling correctly in a piece of timber (ideally hardwood). It needs to be designed to last for say 12 holes to give it some life. The commercial ones are designed to last for longer because you would be annoyed having paid for one it it didn't last.

where are you? somebody may be able to help you, it would take me longer to unlock the garage door than to make you a guide.

how deep are the holes into the guitar and what size?