Basic Set of Tools

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woodworkireland

Reaction score
We're moving house next February, and I hope to have some workshop space for the first time since I lived with my father - who's a pro, so there was plenty of space. :)

So I can finally look to getting properly back to doing some woodwork. As it stands, I have very few tools - only the stuff you need for very basic DIY and flatpack assembly. I'm more interested at this point in hand tools than power tools - although I'd imagine I'll look for a power drill; I don't have the control or the patience for a hand drill. However, since my background is in a fully equipped professional workshop, I've no idea what I'll need as basics. Box-making is the first thing on my list of stuff to do.

I'm guessing a couple of good saws, including a dovetail saw, some decent chisels, hammer, screwdrivers, a few clamps, a vise... anything else?

And when I know what tools I want, what are the best (affordable!) brands available? I'm in Ireland, but buying from the UK is no trouble.

Thanks!
Drew.

Welcome to the forum, Drew.

Might want to add "planes" onto that list methinks :D And before we get carried away, coupla things: What sort of sizes of boxes? Hardwoods, softwoods, evil exotics? Finally, and this is probably most important, define "affordable"? :wink:

Cheers, Alf

Drew

Welcome to te forum.

Now you have opened pandora's box when it comes to hand tools, not that I have many, well not as many as Alf and Philly, Alfs already been along, Philly won't be long in answering.

You wil have to define "affordable" becasue there is a wide range out there and some of them can be expensive like the LN's and Varitas, but they are well worth the money in the long run.

You know the saying, the most expensive tool you can buy is the cheapest.