Bad News, My return and revisiting P/Thicknessers!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nicguthrie

Established Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I've not been on here for ages! I've occasionally stolen a moment to check how everyone's progressing, and to make myself feel bad that all the folks I was around equal with have overtaken my skill level by miles!

Unfortunately, my wife came down with cancer about 8 months ago and it's serious. To keep my spirits up, it's become obvious that I really need to take some time for myself, so I've been forcing myself to take time out and go out to the workshop and experiment despite not feeling like it - it's paying off too, I'd forgotten how much I love that woody feeling :)

I'm finally thinking very seriously about getting a small P/T, and I've got my eye on the difference between price ranges. I'm not a prolific user, so I don't want to spend squintillions on a perfect machine. I don't have a lot of space, my workshop is only 10ft square, and I've got horrible joint problems with... well all of them really, it's genetic rather than straight wear and tear.

So. I started with fancying the Record Power 260. It's the bees knees for small ones, with cast iron tables, induction motor, all the bells and whistles a man could want, including it's very own blade setting jigs - but it comes down to being very expensive (tho it's £250 off at the moment) and very heavy, not to mention quite large. I therefore went looking for the Woodster(star?) PT85 which had been my cheap option the last time I considered it, but D&M tools which was the last place I saw it available, have dropped it for a Sheppach HMS2000. I don't know this machine, but it looks like a clone of the Woodster.