Another small bandsaw advice request...Please :-)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tugalis

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

First off....I love this forum!!! I've been coming here for the last 18 months reading advice on all sorts so thanks!

I currently help my Mrs run a small woodwork shop, I'm a surveyor by trade so can be a bit of a stickler for build quality and tend to buy the best we can afford when it comes to tools.

We have had an order in for some work that is going to require repeated veneer style cuts in birch ply. The 1.5th ply is going to be cut to 60mm wide strips, steamed and then laminated into a form using resinite. This will then need to be resawn into 6mm thicknesses. They will need to be as near perfect as possible, I would normally use our cabinet saw for this however it's going to be a curved shape and I dare not go near the saw with something like this. Plus the Kurf of the blade would just mean too much wastage.

So, the question is, are any of these 4"/100mm (Charnwood/Axminster/Record types) cut saws reliable enough to cut straight everytime? I have spent months looking on ebay and seem to get pipped at the post every time. Obviously I would get a new blade on purchase. Ideally I would get a huge saw that I could use for cutting bowl blanks but the money has been put aside for a new cnc so really don't want to go over £300 and that is pushing it atm unless I absolutely have to. Have any of you used one of these with good results? I have looked at the old Startrite Bandits etc but all of the good 2nd hand saws seem to be up north and I'm near Cambridge so it's a bit of a trek!