Quantcast

Air filters for small workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

JohnCee

Established Member
Joined
26 Nov 2008
Messages
135
Reaction score
0
Location
Sheffield

eribaMotters

Established Member
Joined
12 Feb 2010
Messages
194
Reaction score
0
Location
Westcliff-on-sea, Essex
John,
I recently bought a JET 500 secondhand. Although its early days I am pleased with the unit. [despite it lacking the remote control that I now have on order] Its efficiency however may be hard for me to fairly judge, as I also run a JET 1100 chip extractor with a fine filter cartridge, and have a hospital grade filter in my numatic vacumn cleaner. With this set-up I think I am doing all I can to get my dust levels down, and it seems to be working.
As regards portability, the JET does have a handle, and despite its greater weight it can be moved around with ease. I would recommend buying one.

Colin
 

Blister

Established Member
Joined
10 Nov 2006
Messages
6,644
Reaction score
66
I have the same Jet filter along with a Microclean 2000 and a BIG cyclone and a Trend Air Shield

so do as much as I can to stop dust

The Jet filter always ends up coated in dust ( so its in the filter not my lungs ) :mrgreen:
 

Karl

Established Member
Joined
2 Jul 2007
Messages
3,481
Reaction score
0
Location
Workshop
I bought the Jet a couple of years ago. Great bit of kit.

The only -ve is that I forget to switch it on. I suppose it's one of those tools which really should be in use every time you are working in the 'shop. Which isn't a -ve for the machine, rather my working habits.
 

chipmunk

Established Member
Joined
20 Sep 2011
Messages
1,100
Reaction score
0
Location
Windermere Cumbria
Hi John,
I too have the Jet AFS 500 and am pleased with its performance - it's always covered in fine dust and a quick vacuum with my Camvac gets rid of the thick every now and again.

The reason I bought it was that it was much quieter than the Microclenes which had a nasty loud whistle although I haven't compared them recently.

So that I make sure it's switched on I have mine on a remote controlled mains socket so that it goes on with the main lights.

If you have two rooms I'd definately buy two rather than try carting one about because it'll never be in the right place and you'll be tempted to work without it. Try getting in touch with your local Brimarc distributor and negotiate a deal on buying two together.

HTH
Jon
 

Latest posts

Top