Advice needed on desk design

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmwatt

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

I'm new to this woodworking lark really, only ever done it at school, but hope to get into now as soon as I get a job (just finished my degree in architecture).

One of the first things I'd like to build is a new desk with lots of storage as my bedroom is a bit crampt at the moment. This is of importance to me as I will be using it all the time due to my type of work (architecture) with the PC and an A1 desktop drawing board.

Here is a few pics of what im proposing at the moment:

5001553246_783241bea5_z.jpg

5000869855_4d8969a751_z.jpg

5000864563_c7dd0032c9_z.jpg

5000868267_ae1fd35515_z.jpg

As you can see, the idea is that the 2 middle drawer units can be pulled out and set to the sides and part of the top of the desk can drop down a bit to form a 'keyboard shelf'. Also you will notice shelving underneath at the back. I was thinking of using some flush door bolts to hold the 'keyboard shelf' in place, but im not sure if these are suitable/strong enough? Something like these: http://www.ironmongerydirect.co.uk/...Accessories/Flush_Bolts/301/Slide_Flush_Bolts

Will they be strong enough? Is there any other alternatives? I might just make the 2 drawer units shorter and make the keyboard shelf fixed but then it'll look funny I think.

I plan to use solid birch/oak from the frame along with veneered boards for the drawers etc.

Thanks,
Craig.

(I know it's probably a bit ambitious seen as I've not really made anything before, but hope to get the proper tools and read up a lot before hand). :)

Interesting design. It does seem a bit complex but I'd guess you could pull it off.