A small cabinet for marking and layout tools.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Henning

Established Member
Reaction score
In an attempt to get something done in the 'shop i wanted to make a small cabinet which could hold my layout tools.
As i got a starting set of Miller dowels for Christmas i wanted to incorporate that and i also had some walnut pocket hole plugs which i wanted to try.

So i set out to make a carcass, unfortunately, and being the newbie here i forgot to take any pic's before this one of the gluing up of the carcass:

271220091070.jpg

I fully agree one can never have enough (Bessey) clamps.

Here's the Miller Dowels, i have learnt that it's of importance to let the drillbit up several times to get rid of the debris. If not it just makes a way out itself. :oops: Visible in the pic. That didn't happen on the other side, and since this is a tool cabinet i just note what i learnt and carry on.

271220091071.jpg

Inside for the bottom i used pocket hole screws and walnut plugs against the pine carcass looks OK'ish:

271220091072.jpg

Which in turn sees me here:

281220091076.jpg

Then a door is needed. I have decided to use Lexan equivalent inside a basic frame:

281220091079.jpg

281220091081.jpg

Then clamps again. I built this from scrap after looking at various solutions and full of inspiration from reading on here:

281220091082.jpg

And door in clamps:

281220091083.jpg

Small euro- hinges and it's a cabinet of sorts:

281220091086.jpg

281220091087.jpg

Learnt a lot and any critique and/or helpful hints and tips are welcome.
Thanks for looking!

Good stuff - I really like the contrasting plugs, and the clear door for maximum gloatage :D

Henning":24c3c0ko said:
In an attempt to get something done in the 'shop i wanted to make a small cabinet which could hold my layout tools.