Which Hardwood and Supplier?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TonyW

Established Member
Reaction score
As a newbie I have to confess that I know very little about hardwood its characteristics e.g. workability, stability, etc. etc. So far my only experience has been with softwood (B&Q style - cupped and bowed :) ).

The following are probably very dumb questions but:

I would like to try my hand at dovetail joints (Rob Cosman style) and would appreciate any advice/suggestions on a suitable (inexpensive) hardwood to practice with. I am assuming that I am unlikely to get good results using softwood.

Can anyone recommend a good supplier of hardwoods in the North West of England or North Wales? Where possible I do like to see what I am buying and due to my job I travel around these areas.

Tony

Hi Tony

If you are going to practice on it, then I would say good and get some good softwood to practice with.

If you can get a good joint in softwood, then hardwoods will be easier ( in some ways any way )

I hope this helps

Regards Colin

Good hardwood suppliers might include:

Ambrose McGrath Hardwoods Ltd
6, Fulton Street
Liverpool
Merseyside
L5 9TG

Tel: 0151 298 9898

Down near the docks onm the north side. For a timber to try why not use what the joinery trade are using instead of mahogany these days, idigbo? It's available and not killer priced

Scrit

Idigbo - as touched on in this post quite recently. You could also try Brazilian Cedar or ask mcGraths what they have by way of a fine-grained hardwood which isn't splintery, but avoid the stuff with interlocked grain, like sapele - looks nice but can be murder to plane. Mahogany itself is fairly "soft" (i.e. cuts easily with a sharp chisel) against, say, beech and you'll find idigbo, meranti, etc have similar working characteristics

Scrit