the gizmo competition

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Like Dave said. I could have swivelled the slide so only one side of the tool was cutting but this time I thought I would just go square on, thinking that the thread was relatively shallow and that the tip was nice and sharp. I guess I'm still learning! I think I took three passes on it, stopping when there was no more flat surface on the original cylinder. It is difficult to take a very fine cut sometimes, but I'm putting that down to my inexperience for now. In this case it would have helped a lot to have the other part handy. But if it does need a die run along it, I know Douglas has one available, so I thought I had better not remove any more metal.

The same applies to the brace shank - it's possibly a bit big, but fits several of my brace chucks ok. If the user needs it to be smaller, he knows what to do!

Well, I am far from an expert. But when I was making some woodscrews for a moving filister, I was having lots of troubles when only advancing in one direction, while everything went very smooth if I advanced the other direction a little bit too. I definitely prefer to use a die though, much easier.

When moving the handle to the 90 degree mount (in body of vice) I discovered the internal thread may need a looking at anyway.
So I'll be passing a tap through that anyway. Andy's thread is going to be v close, BBs original may look a tads deeper, but a quick pass with a die would surely tune it anyway, as DTR mentions it's good practice to form the crest anyway but ... I do have a really big wrench which could sort of clamp onto that tapered bit. I've re-cut threads that way before with some success.

Thanks again Andy, a star.

condeesteso":1kplz9kg said:
but a quick pass with a die would surely tune it anyway, as DTR mentions it's good practice to form the crest anyway but .