Basic tools for beginners

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DavidB

Reaction score
Hi. Can anyone advise a newbie on gathering some basic hand tools? I've no real experience but I've always wanted to have a go at woodworking and I'm keen to get started on some basic bits of furniture from the projects in DK's Woodwork manual. I'm in a flat so planning to stick with hand tools as far as possible.

I would plan to just buy what I need as it's required but I don't know whether to opt for reasonable quality used tools on ebay (not knowing which brands are worth what) or just buy some basic stuff in B&Q until I know I'm going to keep at it!

I'm based in Edinburgh so according to some other threads on here there aren't many local suppliers for quality tools or wood so I think I'll have to use the internet a fair bit to supply what I need.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Hi david,

I'm pretty new to this too, its definitely worth investing in good quality tools, you have the choice between new stuff or vintage off either a second hand tool dealer or eBay. A couple of good places are a minster and workshop heaven.

You'll need marking and measuring stuff such as an accurate square and marking guage.

You'll also need chisels, I got some bevel and some mortice chisels. These you can get off eBay relatively cheaply as there are loads and not much risk.

You'll need hand planes, I mostly use a number 5 which I got of eBay which works quite well but if you can afford it take a look at the qaengsheg planes of workshop heaven they are meant to be pretty good.

Saws I use a hard point saw for generally sawing which I got from b and q. You'll also probably need a tenon and a dovetail saw for Joinery. I think for some one new its worth getting these new as vintage ones normally need a sharpen.