Can you fix broken cast Iron?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ScaredyCat

Established Member
Reaction score
I was "lucky" enough to pick up a Record Power BDS150 from their ebay auction. The auction said it had signs of use but when it arrived the rear cast iron feet were broken off

castiron.png

bds150.png

Is this fixable or should I just send it back - given the weight.

The packing was pretty dire and I'm doubly concerned because I managed to pick up a DP58B form them too and am just awaiting delivery.

Mig welding with stainless steel wire and Argon gas, but I would send it back.

Mike

I have no personal experience, but from my lurking on welding forums, the usual way seems to be to preheat the job, and arc weld it with special (expensive'ish) rods. Then control it's cooling.

On a small part that you can get to temp before starting it seems the results are favourable.

Again I have no personal experience, I'm just relaying what I have read.

Last year I bought a Triton thicknesser (new) that had the cast iron frame completely broken in shipping. It's really brittle stuff and seems to never be packaged properly.

Story aside, it's not worth your time or effort to fix on a machine like that, so I would send it back (and keep your fingers cross for the drill).

If you are reluctant to return it, I think you could get away with using epoxy to refit the broken foot.
The unit does not take much in the way of stress when being used, so fixing it to an MDF or plywood base would mean that you could move it around your workshop without risk of knocking the foot off.
You may need to fix it to a base with some additional means, rather than just the holes in the foot.