Newbie wanting to start a workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

simonjng

Reaction score
Hi all - I had a search but couldn't find any previous answers relating to my exact situation... but please feel free to direct me if the answers have already been given!

I'm keen to setup a workshop in my single garage. I have some experience of making basic furniture (bookcases, corner unit for A/V equipment etc.) but all in a pretty amateur fashion using mainly MDF boards, simple joints and (usually) the wrong tools!

So far, I've been able to get away with a DeWalk circlular saw (can't remember model, but it's quite a large one), a DW621K router a black & decker workmate and a selection of clamps, cramps, drills etc. etc.

Obviously I'm woefully under-stocked!

In some sort of order (for budgetting purposes), what tools should I accumulate to have a decent setup?

And if there are any specific model recommendations for the above, that would also be appreciated... I'm totally happy to buy second-hand through eBay etc. I haven't really set a budget, but I could spend between £1000 and £2000 on tooling, I guess...

Cheers
Simon

Simon

Welcome to the forum.

Setting up a workshop depends on which route you wish to go, here are the options:

Hand Tools only
Power Tools only
Both hand and Power Tools

As you already have some power tools I suspect that a combination might be in order.

It would be helpful if you let us know which slope you want us to push you down.

Hi Waka - sorry, I'll try and define the length of the piece of string a bit more!

My ambition is to be a good amateur furniture-maker, rather than a master craftsman, so I envisage trying to use power tools as much as possible... and hand tools where either a) you get a better result and/or b) the power tool required is very expensive/too large for my single garage space.