looking for inspiration

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sunnybob

wysiwyg
Reaction score
I'm all about done with boxes for a while, I want to try something different.
But I dont know what.
Any suggestions? remembering I am a rank amateur with wood.
Dont want anything as complicated as furniture, but willing to look at any suggestions especially if they come with a cutting list.

+1 for a stool but maybe a bar stool with 4 curved legs and rails and a carved seat. If nothing else you can use it in the workshop to sit at the bench. It is very good practice with mortice and tenon joints, curved work and a bit of geometry.
A small display cabinet to go on the wall or on a frame.
a bedside cabinet
A book case

Pete,
spokeshave? aint got one
Brace and bit? aint got one.
Told you I was an amateur, didnt I (g) Although they are on my wish list I am mainly using power tools (router table, bandsaw mitre saw, belt sander) at this time.

Stools are suspiciously like furniture too. We dont have much space for extra furniture, especially if its obviously badly made and wobbly like mine would be. Although a workshop high stool might be worth exploring a bit more.

I was thinking something decorative that I could give away if the missus really didnt like it, but still, keep suggesting.

O/k Bob

Car boot or ebay wooden spokeshave and brace and bit, shouldn't cost a lot.

Then off you go on the quiet side of woodworking learning about grain direction, and how you get a shiny finish from a sharp blade.
Things that will help you with your future projects.

And 3 legged stools don't wobble.

21st March by Racers, on Flickr

Pete

There is the whole world of turning that can be practical, artistic, big / small etc etc.

Setup can range from cheap second hand lathe / kit to a fortune but worth a go.