Do you need to keep a tidy bench to produce quality work?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Doingupthehouse

Established Member
Reaction score
I ask this question cause I’ve been thinking about benches a lot recently, specifically why I dislike of tool wells.

I’m admittedly a very untidy worker, and had a bench many years ago with a well - it just ended up permanently full of carp. When I watch high end cabinet makers at work, they always seem to have a very tidy and organised bench, and what seems to be a zen like calm about them. It could all just be an act for the cameras of course...

I try hard to stay neat, I at least manage to put everything away after a session, but after 53 years I’m not sure I could change now.

I’m a graphic designer by trade and my desk usually looks like a bomb’s hit it, but the work I produce is very neat and I hate disorganised folder structures on my computer.

So can you have a messy bench and still produce very high quality work - I’ve still got a long way to go before I produce anything approaching ‘top quality’ :D

Simon

Coming from an engineering background, I always do a quick clean down at the end of each day. Tools not actually being used back in their racks and a quick brush over.
At the end of each project its a complete clean sweep. Everything put away, bench tops and floors swept.
But anything you see on the TV screen is staged, dont beat yourself up about being too tidy.

I have to admit i wont give work to any shop that is a complete mess. I took my car to a local garage for repair, and every bench and table top was covered in old tools, like the end of a jumble sale in a village hall. i never took my car back again.

sunnybob":1dcpq8u4 said: