Best Vehicle for Carpentry

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CAD Woodworking

Reaction score
Hi Guys,
I'm pretty new to this trade, and im looking into getting a vehicle so I can go get my own timber and sheets as well as transport finished products to clients.

Debating between a van, jeep or a pick-up.

I have an idea that I would like something that can be used as work vehicle and a family vehicle with 4/5 seats.

Im sure this has been answered before but with so many models available these days maybe the answers will be different.

Thanks in advance.

AFAIK, most vans are in a different tax bracket, due to the commercial nature for which they were designed.

Depends partly on what lengths of wood you'll be working with. Were it a purely commercial venture, I'd suggest something van-like or an Estate, that can have the passenger side seating replaced with a flat platform to get extra length in.

But as a family vehicle too, you'll probably be looking at an Estate. Jeeps tend to be quite small inside and pickups are more 2-seaters, with the double-cab ones sacrificing rear storage space.

Mercedes sprinter van
get a full sized sheet of anything inside. two passengers seats, and it goes like a rocket ship. What more could you want?
i dont see how you could get ANYTHING inside a jeep.

I've worked out of a pickup, jeep and van. I can comfortably say I wouldn't go back to the pickup or the jeep. The van wins hands down. So much easier for transporting tools and materials, and you get three seats too. :D

Having recently driven from Miami to Savannah (500 miles) in a Jeep I can honestly say I have never hated anyone more than the designer of that godawful junkbox. As to getting anything inside it - err no, just no.