Your advice please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davidc1075

Established Member
Reaction score
I am just about to make a cabinet for the bathroom, I have 1" elm boards 12" wide. I want to make up some doors for the cabinet. Should I rip the boards in half and re joint them. The wood was kiln dried and has been stored for 6 months now. I am just a little concerned that I may have problems. Any ideas or advice on how best to proceed.

Hi David

Let me preface this advice with the following warning: I'm no expert!

In all the reading i've done over the last year or so comes to the same conclusion: it's almost always worth reducing and making up a panel of narrower panels to avoid cupping/bowing. Seeing as it's for a bathroom, I would imagine the moisture and temperature differences would eventually effect the stability of the board. It's a relatively quick procedure, and if done carefully, it will be very difficult to spot the glue line.

David

Not sure if I understand you correctly, are you intending to do solid doors?

have you considered doing panelled doors?

Yes I was intending make a rails and style door with a solid panel. My concern was exactly as Byron mentioned about cupping but there is a very nice figure that I want to have on the door panel so I am reluctant to have to make it up with smaller panels. If I rip the panel in half and re glue would I have to flip one over to alternate the growth rings as you would do if making up a table top.

Just to stimulate further discussion as I am interested in the more experienced views on this, Byron is correct I would have thought by the book given the humidity changes of the room.