workshop volunteers needed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

big soft moose

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys (and girls ;) )

As i may have mentioned before my day job is as the volunteer scheme coordinator for the ridgeway and thames path national trails.

We are currently looking for some "workshop" volunteers - basically people who have one or more days per month to spare and are interested in volunteering at our workshop near west ilsley (berkshire), making signs, gates, information boards etc for use on the trails (work will largely be in oak or softwoods, though ridgeway signs are made out of recycled plastic)

We will provide induction, training, and supervision but ideally we are looking for people who already have experience of powered woodworking (router, morticer, pillar drill , mitre saw etc).

we pay reasonable travel expenses (up to a 25 mile radius of the workshop) and provide hot drinks etc.

Any one who is interested please pm me or call me on 01865 810211 (and ask for pete as i keep my moosiness for out of office hours :D) to discuss things further.

edit : this link (if ive done it right :) ) should give a map showing the approximate location of our workshop - i'm sure people will understand why i dont want to put the exact location on the internet. Map

Shame I'm so far away. Best of luck to you anyway.

Is this the same Ridgeway that has had a TRO placed on it to prevent use by motor vehicles :?:

I belive its getting a little overgrown in some places , some of the chaps from the local TRF used to do quite a bit of clearing and maintainence on the ridgeway are they still helping out Pete.

Keeping these historical rights of way open is of parramount importance to all user groups and is a great cause , if i was closer i would gladly lend a hand but its a bit to far for me .

Keep up the good work

Mic..