Workshop and Hi

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Esox Lucius

Established Member
Reaction score
Firstly hi to everyone. I am new to the forum and live near Skegness in Lincolnshire. I was given the link to the forum by a work collegue. Real name is Mark but as i like my pike fishing i thought the name would suit.

I am just starting out into the world of woodworking after a lifetime of looking through the goldfish bowl wishing i had done it earlier. So mistakes aplenty are on the cards but i am very persistant so am looking forward to the learning curve. I am aiming to have my workshop set up by the Spring or earlier if all goes well and i find the bargains i hope for.

All aspects interest me from lathe work to furniture making. I will start on the basics first.

I am after some advise on what is considered the must have electrical tools, both static and hand held for my workshop.

Any advice on setting a workshop out would also be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Mark

Hi Mark and welcome. I was in your shoes a couple of years ago, pretty much the same circumstances, wanted to give it a go for ever but there was always "something else" that put the whole workshop thing on the back burner. I also liked the hunt for essox lucious as well as spending half (if not more) of my time in a past time that involves removing your brain, turning it round and reinserting it - carp fishing. Unfortunately pike and carp fishing have stopped as while I was "bankside" I was always thinking of what I could (and should) be doing in the workshop.

As for starting out tools this is the way I went:

Small table saw (axminster ts200)
Pillar drill
Hand held router
Circular saw (for cutting down big sheet material into a size manageable by the table saw)
Hand plane
electric drill
cordless drill/driver
hammers,screwdrivers, etc etc.