Woodworm in spalted beech

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kryten602

Established Member
Reaction score
About 2 years ago I placed in a large plastic box in my woodstore some 10" x 12" pieces of spalted beech, about 12 pieces varying between 3/4" to about 2" thick. I opened the box recently and found evidence of woodworm in some pieces. Aside from my stupidity in not taking better care ( I am a novice woodworker ) how can I tell if the danger has passed, how can I treat the affected pieces to kill any remaining offenders and having done so is the wood still useable and how best to finish the wood (Danish oil ?) if damaged pieces are useable for making say boxes for instance?
Would appreciate some advice from seasoned (pun maybe?) woodworkers as this beech tree has some sentimental value and I would like to be able to make something rather than burn it all.
Sincere thanks.
Howard

I seem to remember seeing someone at carving class. Turning the timber upside and taping with a hammer, if they fall out and crawl around you still have a problem, or it might have been dust falling out think that mean't the same thing.

Stick the pieces of wood in the freezer for a week or so.That will kill any that are still alive.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

Buy some Poundland superglue and inject as much as you can into the holes after you know the worm has gone. it'll stabilize any weakness left by the worm.

ColeyS1":fqd7t2np said:
Stick the pieces of wood in the freezer for a week or so. That will kill any that are still alive.