Wood Plugs

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Colarris

Established Member
Reaction score
I want to hide the screws im going to use to attach the seat of chair to the base using wooden plugs. I've never used these before and so wondered if someone could outline what I will need and how the to go about the whole process.

3 things

1. cutters to make the plugs - the obvious thing
2. something to enable you to cut these accurately and with control over the cutting - pillar drill is ideal
3. something to cut the hole that you have set your screws in - clean cut and, of course, the matching size to the plug that is cut. Forstner bit works well. Ideally used in the pillar drill again...

Thanks.
I was thinking of buying the plugs ready made as I don't have alot of the equipment needed.

You don't need cutters. Just cut out the plugs as near as you can with a saw or whatever, then reduce them to the diameter with a sharp chisel. Then tap them in - if too tight trim a bit more. Then tap them in again with glue, and trim off (chisel, plane, sandpaper) the excess when the glue is dry.

Colarris":ppjctlfy said:
I want to hide the screws im going to use to attach the seat of chair to the base using wooden plugs. I've never used these before and so wondered if someone could outline what I will need and how the to go about the whole process.

If you're really stuck PM me and I'll send you a few tapered ones gratis.

I have a set (Drill and cutter) of the Diston ones, though I understand the Veritas are better?

Used them on some outside stuff in oak (see avatar) and got some differential shrinkage - in that the plugs are now slightly proud. Not really a problem - it just adds to the character?

Rod

RogerP":19566mn7 said:
If you're really stuck PM me and I'll send you a few tapered ones gratis.