Wood Identification

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Svenedin

Reaction score
Firstly let me introduce myself as this is my first post on the forum. I'm Stephen. I'm a doctor from Croydon, UK. I am currently renovating/restoring my house.

I have a question regarding the identification of the wood that a fire surround is made of.

This fire surround is original to my house and is from around 1902. During our tenure of the house (since 1978) it has only ever been known painted with gloss paint and it was painted by the previous occupants.

I was recently advised by a chap who came to fit some spare parts to a fire grate in another room that the fire surround in question was very likely original and also likely to be hardwood.

I decided that I would do a test strip of one of the legs. The idea was that if I found it to be pitch pine or something I didn't like then I would just paint it again. By doing a whole panel it would be easier to match back up.

I decided to use peelaway 7 as I was worried that I might wreck it with the caustic peelaway 1 if it was oak. Having stripped a cast iron fireplace a few weeks back I have found that the solvent strippers available to amateurs are now pretty useless without the methylene chloride (banned by the EU unless for industrial use and unless one has the correct documentation). Anyway, peelaway 7 does work but takes 48 hours and will need a lot of cleaning up as there is still loads of paint in the grain. Peelaway 1 would be much better because it really damages the paint and the residue can be washed out with a stiff brush (the alkali turns the oils in the paint into a soap-like goo) but if the wood is oak it could darken it badly and the same may be true if it is mahogany (which the reddish colour suggests it might be).