Wood identification- complete beginner's question.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chaoticbob

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi. I'm mainly a metal-mangler, but have occasionally (shock horror!) turned wood on my engineering lathes. It's a nice thing to do, but I've been put off by the cost of wood blanks, which I'm inevitably going to trash at first. BUT... I recently had a woodburning stove installed, and when looking about for cheap hardwood to burn came across a farm which allows you to pick and choose from their pile for 30 quid to fill the back of an estate. I think there may be some stuff there too good to burn - for starters, I fancied the bit in the attached pic. It seems dense and close grained, but no idea what it is - but I'm sure someone out there will know!
Regards, Robin

Attachments

• DSC_0301.jpg
    DSC_0301.jpg
    70.1 KB · Views: 1,317
  • DSC_0302.jpg
    DSC_0302.jpg
    68.2 KB · Views: 1,317
Yew. As said above, go get more. And don't burn it! Far too nice to do that to it, and whilst I may be mistaken there are certainly some very toxic compounds within yew that may (or may not - I'm not sure, but why take the risk?) be released by incomplete combustion.

Adam

It's a lovely wood to turn - lovely colouring, nice and close grained and pretty stable - but some people do get an allergic reaction to it so give it a try and watch out for any rashes or other signs of it not agreeing with you.

Reminds me I have a few small bits in the garage which might be ready to be turned about now :)

Thanks. Wife said it was yew, but then she said everything else was cherry, which seemed unlikely, so I was suspicious of her wood identifying powers. But I shall tell her she was right, and suffer 'I told yew so'.