Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Windows screw-ups, worms and problems..... (help requested)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Scrit

Established Member
Joined
17 Sep 2002
Messages
3,872
Reaction score
0
Well, yet again the wisdom of being on Windows (of any denomination) has been brought into question :evil: . One of the supplier sites (Thermwood) I use seems to have been under attack today and I picked-up "something" which decided to add its own toolbar to IE and hid or removed most of my toolbars on the desktop - this is despite an up to date Windows environment, pop-up blocker, up to date virus checker and firewall. I got rid of it (it had also managed to install some application "meant" to clean my computer of porn!) by uninstalling various suspect apps and running a virus sweep, but I can no longer see my internet connection status at the R/H side of the desktop toolbar. This is the app. which pops up to show you sent/received data bytes and allows you to disconnect if you want to. Could anyone refresh my feeble memory and tell me how to get it back, please?

Regards

Scrit

Scrit
 

Argee

Established Member
Joined
2 Feb 2005
Messages
1,497
Reaction score
3
Location
Crowborough, East Sussex
Go to "Network" in Control Panel. Right-click your connection and select "Properties" Check the box alongside "Show icon in taskbar when connected."

Ray.
 

Scrit

Established Member
Joined
17 Sep 2002
Messages
3,872
Reaction score
0
Thanks Ray, that was a real help. I found that this little so and so had deleted all of my Network and Dial-up Connections, which is why I couldn't see what was going on.

edit: I had an attack of the Addware...... :twisted:

Scrit
 

Shady

Established Member
Joined
6 Sep 2004
Messages
838
Reaction score
0
Scrit - do you use IE? If so, I'd recommend switching to 'mozilla firefox' - a much more secure browser... It's a free download, and a better browser all round. Good spyware/adware blocking functionality.
 

Scrit

Established Member
Joined
17 Sep 2002
Messages
3,872
Reaction score
0
Yes, I'm still on Win/IE :evil: . Currently trying to move to Linux, but that means finding a CAD/CAM package that both I and the CNC can live with! Thanks for the aadvicre.

Scrit
 

gav

Established Member
Joined
1 Apr 2005
Messages
103
Reaction score
0
Location
Ipswich
Shady":18cdqdow said:
Scrit - do you use IE? If so, I'd recommend switching to 'mozilla firefox' - a much more secure browser... It's a free download, and a better browser all round. Good spyware/adware blocking functionality.
Not an advocate of either browser but the following article makes interesting reading http://blogs.zdnet.com/Ou/index.php?p=103

Perhaps systems are only secure while there numbers are limited and the interest is low.

Gav
 

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
77
Location
In the eternally wet North
gav":2ir4c4tj said:
Perhaps systems are only secure while there numbers are limited and the interest is low.

Gav
Very true..but I guess one also has to factor in how quickly the software supplier takes to bring out a patch.
 

sxlalan

Established Member
Joined
21 Apr 2005
Messages
242
Reaction score
0
Location
Skipton, Yorkshire
I think Opera is still under the radar and is the fastest browser of the 3....though with Firefox and Opera there are still some sites that don't display properly due to an IEcentric design and need IE to be viewed properly.
 
Top