Why do folks here so like the FD blades?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scrimper

Established Member
Reaction score
Am I missing something about the Flying Dutchman blades? I have been fretsawing for over 50 years with Hand frame, treadle and powered fretsaws but I have never had so much trouble with blades snapping since I decided to try the much applauded FD blades.

A couple of years ago I ordered a selection of FD blades from Mikes workshop after reading the rave reviews on here but to be honest I hate using the damn things, they seem to work for a short while then suddenly for no apparent reason *BANG* they go and every-time it happens I practically jump so high I almost hit the ceiling, I am sure they will give me a heart attack one day! they always snap about 3/8" from the top of the blade. I could accept it more if I was doing a very tight turn or something but it seems to happen any-time even on a nice straight cut!

I stopped using them for a while as they drove me mad but this morning thought I would give them another chance but they still snap the same. I normally use the Niqua reverse tooth blades from Hobbies and rarely have any problems with them so why do I have so much trouble with the FD blades especially as some people here say FD blades are made by Niqua?

I may just be unlucky and have a poor quality batch but I don't think I will buy any more FD blades! I have also noticed that some of the FD blades have started to rust which is annoying because I have some original hobbies blades that belonged to my Grandfather and are at least 75 years old and are still rust free!

So what do others think of FD blades? Perhaps members could share their blade experiences? :)