Wanted: Piece of Cherry Wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Penny

Established Member
Reaction score
Guys, I've been asked to make a special item for an old friend. For the project I need a piece of Cherry Wood, no other will do. Does anyone have a decent board I can have for a fair price? I need approx 1000 x 500 x 100 mm, although there is flexibility in that size.

This is my first project since I started suffering from a relapse of some health issues, and is important for me and my health, so if you can help out I would be really grateful.

Thanks

Thats a big piece of wood hard to track down and expensive. Does it need to be solid or are you planning to cut it up?

If I'm really careful with measuring and cutting could go to:

1 piece 500 x 200 x 50mm
2 pieces 150 x 50 x 50mm

S&L Hardwoods have Cherry in thick boards (I'm assuming you want American Cherry rather than English?),

http://www.slhardwoods.co.uk/products/s ... sawn-board

If they won't post it then try Surrey Timbers who, besides being extremely helpful, definitely will post,

http://www.surreytimbers.co.uk

You don't give any details of your project or of your skill level, so at the risk of teaching granny to suck eggs you should be cautious in so far as sawn boards, or even boards that are "planed all round", will still not be square. So you'll have to do some plane work yourself to get them squared up.

Good luck

Penny
I don't think you will get cherry 100mm thick anywhere. 50mm, yes, but it is not cheap. And don't forget it will not finish at 50mm, it will be more like 45mm when planed up.